Carleton brings home two Capital Educator Awards

Carleton University professors brought home two Capital Educators Awards handed out at Ottawa’s sixth annual EduGala on May 24, 2007.

Professors Matthew Bellamy (Department of History) and Nick Papadopoulos (Sprott School of Business) were honoured for their commitment to teaching excellence and dedication to their students.

In their nominations, Bellamy’s students described him as focused on their success and praised him for being available at all hours and encouraging them to have confidence in their abilities.

Papadopolous’ students highlighted the creative and stimulating teaching methods, such as using class discussions, case studies, group work and collages, that he uses to engage them.

Also nominated from Carleton University for a teaching award were Carol Miles, Director, Learning Technologies and Teaching Support; Josh Beer, College of the Humanities (Classics); Keir Armstrong, Department of Economics, and; Ramachandra Achar, Department of Electronics.

EduGala is coordinated by the Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation (OCRI) and the event celebrates the dedication and achievements of local educators.

This entry was written by Mandy Sinclair and posted in the issue. Tags applied to this article are: , . Leave a comment, bookmark the permalink or share the following short URL for this article via social media:

Be a part of the Carleton Now community

Carleton Now strives to be an inclusive, relevant and informative publication focused on building and fostering an engaged campus community. You can be a part of our community by: sharing or voting for this article (below), joining in the conversation, or by sending a submission/letter to the editor.

Comments are closed.

Current issue