Record number of nominees

Congratulations to the 46 Carleton professors nominated for TVO 2010 Best Lecturer competition.

The Best Lecturer Competition is quickly becoming a favourite annual event for universities and colleges, lecturers and students across Ontario.

On Dec. 7, the 20 semi-finalists will be announced. A panel of judges will then choose 10 finalists, who will be invited to deliver complete lectures on Big Ideas beginning March 6, 2010. Viewers will then be invited to grade each of the finalists and cast their vote for Ontario’s 2010 Best Lecturer. Voting begins on March 6, 2010 and closes on Sunday, April 11, 2010. The winner will be announced on Saturday April 17 2010.

The Carleton nominees are:

Hillary Becker, Jonathan Beddoes, Jit Bose, Ian Broom, Bob Burk, John Buschek, Gabriel Contessa, Zeba Crook, Clint Curle, Clare Dale, Jeff Dawson, Jane Dickson-Gilmour, Sangita Dubey, Jan Fedorowicz, Patrizia Gentile, Root Gorelick, Pamel Grassau, Michael Graydon, David Hamilton, Kim Hellemans, Darrell Herauf, John Higney, Wayne Horn, Chris Joslin, Vincent Kazmierski, Geoffrey Kellow, J.L. Gilles LeVasseur, Richard Mann, Matthew McKean, Vlasios Melessanakis, Chris Motz, Fred Nitzsche, Roderick Phillips, Robert Riordan, Michael Runtz, Herbert Saravanamuttoo, Garth Sheriff, Daniel Siddiqi, John Stead, Jesse Stewart, Brian Tansley, Warren Thorngate, Collett Tracey, Robert West and James Wright.

Good luck!

For more information on the Best Lecturer Series go to

This entry was written by Carleton_Now and posted in the issue. Tags applied to this article are: , . Leave a comment, bookmark the permalink or share the following short URL for this article via social media:

Be a part of the Carleton Now community

Carleton Now strives to be an inclusive, relevant and informative publication focused on building and fostering an engaged campus community. You can be a part of our community by: sharing or voting for this article (below), joining in the conversation, or by sending a submission/letter to the editor.

Comments are closed.

Current issue