Three ultimate accolades for Carleton faculty

It’s an award that allows professors to add a simple “F.R.S.C.” to the string of letters at the end of their titles, but the honour goes far beyond business cards.

During its announcement of annual medal and award winners, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) elected three Carleton University faculty members as 2003 Fellows. They include David Sinclair, Jill Vickers, and Albert Halsall. The trio will be inducted during the Society’s annual meeting in November in Ottawa.

Since 1884, RSC awards have been recognized as the ultimate accolade in Canadian academics in the fields of arts and sciences. Fellows are selected for one of three Academies: Science; Humanities and Social Sciences; and Lettres et Sciences Humaines.

Sinclair, Vickers and Halsall bring to 24 the number of Fellows Carleton has produced since the honour’s inception in 1884. The most recent, Professor A. Brian McKillop of the Department of History, was inducted in 2001. Fellows are often tapped for their expertise by the RSC and by government for policy development. They can also be asked to act as liaisons between their institutions and the national organization and to organize regional events or contribute to RSC publications.

Sinclair, of the Department of Physics, was elected for internationally known work in nuclear and particle physics that has spanned 20 years. Of particular relevance is his analysis and administrative coverage of neutrinos, in conjunction with the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, which he is helping move to the forefront of world research and detection. He was selected as a Fellow of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, one of four divisions within the RSC’s Academy of Sciences.

Vickers, of the Department of Political Science, earned her recognition from the Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences for ground-breaking work about gender in politics. Long considered a feminist, Vickers’ analyses have been indispensable in addressing feminine scholarly issues in public policy. Her work draws attention from the entire arena of political science, and the Canadian Political Science Association recently created the Jill Vickers Prize for the best paper given at the Association’s annual conference.

Halsall, of the Département d’Études françaises, has followed the literary path at Carleton, gaining his Fellowship for work in la langue de Molière. The RSC’s Académie des Lettres et des Sciences Humaines recognized Halsall for his seminal work in literary texts and as the founder of a movement to study modern rhetoric, primarily through classical French Literature.

From –

This entry was written by ccms_admin and posted in the issue. Tags applied to this article are: , , . Leave a comment, bookmark the permalink or share the following short URL for this article via social media:


By ccms_admin

Donec placerat. Nullam nibh dolor, blandit sed, fermentum id, imperdiet sit amet, neque. Nam mollis ultrices justo. Sed tempor. Sed vitae tellus. Etiam sem arcu, eleifend sit amet, gravida eget, porta at, wisi.

Be a part of the Carleton Now community

Carleton Now strives to be an inclusive, relevant and informative publication focused on building and fostering an engaged campus community. You can be a part of our community by: sharing or voting for this article (below), joining in the conversation, or by sending a submission/letter to the editor.

Comments are closed.

Current issue