Employee accomplishments

Allan Thompson

Congratulations to Journalism Prof. Allan Thompson who received a medal from Gov. Gen. Michaelle Jean during a recent trip to Rwanda. The medal recognizes his work on the Rwanda Initiative and his efforts to rebuild the media in that country after the 1994 genocide. In a formal citation, the Governor General praised the Rwanda Initiative because it “fosters a love of journalism and a new generation of Rwandan reporters, ready to uphold the truth — something we in Canada hold so dear.”
Thompson has been the driving force behind the Rwanda Initiative, a partnership between Carleton’s School of Journalism and Communication and its counterpart at the National University of Rwanda. Since 2006, the project has sent more than 125 journalists to Rwanda to work as visiting lecturers and help fill the gaps in a devastated sector. The Canadian High Commissioner for Rwanda, Ross Hynes, announced the presentation of the medal at a reception at the Canadian residence in Kigali.

Dr. Abd El Halim

In recognition of his notable achievements, Dr. Abd El Halim, chair of Carleton’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been appointed to the Canadian Academy of Engineering. The Canadian Academy of Engineering is the national institution through which the country’s most distinguished and experienced engineers provide strategic advice on matters of critical importance to Canada. The Academy is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987. Members of the Academy are nominated and elected by their peers to honorary fellowships in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. There are at present some 308 active members, 124 emeritus members and three honorary members. Fellows of the Academy are committed to ensuring that Canada’s engineering expertise is applied to the benefit of all Canadians.

Diana Nemiroff

Diana Nemiroff, director of the Carleton University Art Gallery (CUAG), recently announced that Sanattiaqsimajut: Inuit Art from the Carleton University Art Gallery Collection has won first prize for exhibition catalogue design in the 2009 American Association of Museums (AAM) Publications Design Competition. It was recognized within the category of institutions with budgets less than $750,000.

Dr. Winnie Ye

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) announced funding for Carleton researcher Winnie Ye’s Micro/NanoPhotonics Lab. Dr. Ye will receive $112,475 to support advanced development in sensing technology which will have direct applications in biosecurity. Micro/NanoPhotonics is the study of the interaction of light and matter at the micro/nanometer scale, which supports a broad range of applications in biomedical and telecommunication technologies.

Comments are closed.